NIIT lifts the Keane Cup for the fourth time

DQW Bureau
New Update


Delhi-based NIIT Ltd successfully defended its title when it won The Tenth

Cyber Media Cricket Tournament For The Keane Cup for the fourth year

conse-cutively. In a pulsating final, which was a 30 over a side affair, it

defeated Gurgaon-based Efunds International India (P) Ltd by four wickets.

Brief score: Efunds 206 for 6 in 30 overs (Hardeep 66, Rishi 38, Parmender 27

not out, Mahender 24, Kapil 3 for 30, Gagan 2 for 37) lost to NIIT 208 for 6 in

29.5 overs (Ashish P 76, Jeeshu 44, Ashish S 24, Dheeraj 22 not out, Hardeep 3

for 40) by 4 wickets.

For scoring 76 runs in just 71 balls, which included nine fours and one six,

Ashish Prasad of NIIT was declared the man-of-the-match.


Vikas Sharma, the Captain of Efunds, was declared the best wicket keeper of

the tournament for the second consecutive year. Gagan Adlakha, the Captain of

NIIT, who took 18 wickets by giving away just 172 runs, was declared the best

bowler of the tournament. The best batsman award went to Zameer of Efunds who

scored a total of 226 runs at an average of 32.29. For scoring 227 runs,

capturing 8 wickets, taking one catch and effecting two run outs, Kapil Gupta of

NIIT was adjudged the player of the tournament–again for the second

consecutive year.

The award ceremony was jointly presided over by KK Tulshan, Executive

Director of Cyber Media (India) Ltd, and Parminder Miglani, MD of Keane India

Ltd. In his opening remarks, Tulshan touched upon the history of the tournament,

how it started and how it had evolved over the last 10 years. Miglani

congratulated all the participants and reaffirmed his commitment to the

tourna-ment. The second runner up trophy was given jointly to HECL and WeP


CyberMedia News Service

New Delhi