A royal appreciation

DQW Bureau
New Update


It's the time of the year when we celebrate excellence by

giving away the DQ Channels Excellence awards to the best of the best solution

providers of the country. And this year, the excellence is being celebrated

royally-on board, the Star Cruise Libra.

More than 100 of India's best solution providers went on a two

nights and three days cruise from Mumbai to Goa and back. Besides one full day

of attending sessions relevant to their business, the SPs let their hair down in

the evening with some pulsating music and dance.

Amongst this dance and music, the achievements of the very best

of the lot were recognized by handing over the trophies. And these lucky SPs won

their respective trophies fending off tough competition from the others. The

distinguished jury consisting of Vivek Malhotra of Lenovo, Ajay Verma of

Symantec, Binod Panda of Ingram Micro and Hrishi Parthasarathy of Microsoft had

a really tough time in deciding on the winners. It took three rounds of

tea-coffee and plenty of debates before the winners could be decided.


awards were instituted to appreciate the efforts of SPs who have succeeded

in improving their business across several parameters"

Not surprising, most of the winners are no strangers to these

awards. They have been winning this award right since its inception. For

instance, my friend Ranjan Chopra of Team Computers now has five such trophies

in his showcase, which he has won in different categories over the last three

years. In fact, he has the unique distinction of winning the award each and

every year-a record that he shares with Nitin Shah of Allied Digital Services.

Besides Ranjan and Nitin, other big time winners include Ravi

Verdes of Frontier Business Machines and Devendra Taneja of PC Solutions. These

two have also won more than a couple of trophies right since the inception of

these awards in the year 2005.


So what makes these awards unique? For one, these are the only

set of awards that recognize the excellent work done by the SP community. These

awards were instituted to appreciate the efforts of SPs who have succeeded in

improving their business across several parameters-revenue, service

capability, innovation, initiative and business skills.

Every year, the DQ Channels editorial team spread across five

bureaus collects and collates the data received from a wide section of the SP

community. After sifting through the voluminous amount of data, the final set is

presented before a carefully chosen jury, which then deliberates and finally

comes to the final conclusion about the winners.

Interestingly, there is no voting system that is followed. Every

winner is chosen unanimously, a record we are proud of. So, let's all stand up

and give the winners a standing ovation. They truly deserve it.